

MINUTES OF THE 13th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE CONSULTANCY SPECIALIST GROUP OF THE BRITISH COMPUTER SOCIETY

HELD AT 1st FLOOR, THE DAVIDSON BUILDING, 5 SOUTHAMPTON STREET, LONDON WC2E 7HA AT 6.00 PM ON TUESDAY 9th OCTOBER 2018

PRESENT: Marwan Elnaghi (Secretary); Terence Freedman (Committee Member); Antonio Landa (Committee Member); Colin Pearson (Treasurer); Derran Stokes (BCS Member); Simon Wallace (Committee Member); Alan Warr (Acting Chair)

APOLOGIES:

Mike Baldock (Committee Member); John McGarvey (Chair & Committee Member); Sabine McNeill (Committee Member); Anwar Ul Mustafa (Committee Member)

MEMBERS PRESENT:

- 1. The Acting Chairman conveyed the apologies of John McGarvey.
- 2. The Acting Chair noted that the meeting had been duly convened and that a quorum was present and opened the meeting at 6.00pm.
- 3. With the consent of the member present, the notice convening the meeting was taken as read.
- 4. The Acting Chair introduced the proposed agenda and it was agreed.
- 5. The Acting Chair introduced the minutes of the previous AGM (2017) and asked if there were any comments or amendments. Since there were no comments the minutes were taken as read and were agreed as being a true record.
- 5. The Acting Chair introduced Chairs' report for 2017/18. There were four events during the year which had all been very successful and were well attended. A Copy of the Chair's report is available to read with the minutes in the AGM section of the Consultancy SG webspace.
- 6. The Chair then introduced the Treasurer's Report who presented his report including the Consultancy SG's Accounts for 2017/18. The Treasurer advised that the Group had claimed a lower subsidy than was available as a result of good housekeeping and fewer meetings than planned. The Treasurer recommended that we continue to charge members and guests attending the events. The Committee agreed the Report.

7. Election of officers.

The Hon. Chair, John McGarvey, is standing down. Dr Alan Warr was proposed by John as the next Chair and seconded by Simon Wallace. The Committee elected Alan Warr as the new Chair. John McGarvey offered to remain as a member of the Committee and this was gladly accepted by the whole Committee.

The Hon. Treasurer, Colin Pearson volunteered to continue as Treasurer and this was gladly accepted unanimously by the Committee.

The Hon. Secretary, Anwar UI Mustafa is standing down as Secretary but continuing as the Academic Liaison Officer. Antonio Landa was proposed by John McGarvey as the new Secretary and seconded by Alan Warr and other Committee members. The Committee duly elected Antonio Landa as Secretary.

8. Election of new members.

Derran Stokes MBCS offered his services as a Committee Member and was elected as a new Committee Member.

9. There being no further business the Chairman declared the meeting closed at approx. 6.30 pm.

Secretary, Consultancy Specialist (
Chair, Consultancy Specialist Grou	