## SOUTH YORKSHIRE BCS 2018 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday **18th October 2018** at **6.15 pm** in Room 9130 CANTOR Building, City Campus, Sheffield Hallam University

NOTE: The location is Room 9130, Cantor Building, City Campus, SHU

**Present** Mr C Gray, Dr M Beer, Ms E Barabas, Mr A Shaw, Mr G Whitelaw, Mr C Brookes, Dr C Smythe

1. Apologies

None received

2. Minutes of Annual General Meeting of 19th October 2017

Accepted

3. Chairman's Report

Mr Gray summarised the report and commented on another successful year for the branch with six events organised (December and January did not go ahead due to low turnout numbers on previous years) and with an average attendance of 17 people per event, although the last 2 events for academic year were higher. Also Steelcon was a successful event, in which we were a sponsor.

4. Treasurer's Report (Available at meeting)

Dr Beer presented a summary of the finances report from the branch.

5. Comments from Members from the Floor

No comments from the floor

6. Election of officers for the Year 2018/2019

The Branch Committee recommend the following officers:

- Chair A.Shaw (Proposed: C.Gray, Seconded: C.Smythe)
- Vice-Chair E.Barabas (Proposed: C.Gray, Seconded: C.Smythe)
- Treasurer M.Beer (Proposed: C.Gray, Seconded: C.Smythe)
- Secretary E.Barabas (Proposed: C.Gray, Seconded: C.Smythe)

And all were duly elected

7. Election of Committee members for the Year 2018/2019\*

The following offer themselves for re-election to the committee:

C Gray - (Proposed: C.Smythe, Seconded: A.Shaw).

Note the following are existing members of the committee who do not come up for election till 3 years after their last election date (in brackets)

C Smythe (2017), C Brookes (2017), N Bizzell (2017), G Whitelaw (2016), K.Bentley (2016)

## 8. Any Other Business

- Student Prize Presentation BCS Elliot Chiat Prize for the best 2nd year student at the University of Sheffield TBA;
- BCS Professional Development prize is awarded TBA.
- 9. Date of Next Meeting 17th October, 2019
- \* Committee members are elected for a three year period and existing ordinary committee members elected at the 2015 AGM retire this year. For clarity, all current committee members are listed, so members have a list of the whole committee.