MINUTES OF THE FOURTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE CONSULTANCY SPECIALIST GROUP OF THE BRITISH COMPUTER SOCIETY HELD AT 1st FLOOR, THE DAVIDSON BUILDING, 5 SOUTHAMPTON STREET, LONDON WC2E 7HA AT 6.15 PM ON TUESDAY 22 September 2009

PRESENT: Rajan Anketell (Chairman)

Jennifer Stapleton (Treasurer)

John McGarvey (Secretary & Membership Secretary)

APOLOGIES: Frank Vielba (Committee member)

Richard Robson (Committee member)
Richard Avery (Committee member)
David Miller (Committee member)

José-Rodrigo Córdoba-Pachón

Peter Coates

MEMBERS PRESENT Included:

Nicola Askham Elisabeth Hartnett Jawaz Illavia Anthony Law John Morton Garry Nuttall Colin Pearson

- 1. The Chairman noted that the meeting had been duly convened and that a quorum was present, and opened the meeting.
- 2. With the consent of the members present, the notice convening the meeting was taken as read.
- 3. The Chairman explained the purpose of the meeting, which was to conduct the business set out in the notice of annual general meeting.
- 4. The Minutes of the last AGM on the 13th May 2008 were read through and agreed as being as being a true record.
- 5. The Chairman introduced Chairs' report for 2008/9. Highlights included a number of joint events with branches; and leading in the implementation of the JCF local communities collaboration project.
- 6. The Chairman wished to record his thanks to Committee, members of the SG and staff and to the various speakers, who made last years programme so successful.
- 7. The Treasurer reported that it was decided to immediately align our SG with the BCS change in the financial year from 31st August to 1st September. This meant that our current extended financial year ran from 1st May 2008 to 31st August 2009.
- 8. As in previous years a small surplus accrued through prudent financial management and this year it was decided to apply for permission to use £200 to make an award for excellence in education.

- 9. This matter is now under consideration by BCS HQ. Members will informed of the outcome as soon as it is decided
- 10. This year the group again budgeted to break even in the next financial year but this will reviewed as we consider holding events in the regions.
- 11. There being no other nominations the Chair and Secretary were re-elected unopposed. Colin Pearson having previously submitted his intention to stand as Treasurer was elected unopposed to the position of Treasurer. Jennifer Stapleton similarly was elected unopposed as Membership Secretary. They were duly appointed with effect from the end of the meeting.
- 12. Enquiries have been gratefully received from a number of members with various offers of help and to serve on the committee. Their offers are much appreciated and appointments will be announced on completion of the discussions.
- 13. There being no further business, the Chairman declared the meeting closed at 6.35 pm.

Hon Secretary	
 Chairman	