Welcome to our new-look certifications pagesTell us what you think

Professional Certificate in Business Architecture

  • Apply frameworks philosophy, principles and techniques of business architecture, and be able to explain the importance of business architecture in a change context
  • Describe the use of business architecture in assessing the impact of change and ensuring the effectiveness of business change
  • Develop skills and knowledge to support successful business change programmes within your organisation
  • Attain one of the four modules you need to gain the Advanced International Diploma in Business Analysis

Who is it for?

  • The professional certificate is for anyone who needs to understand the principles, rationale and techniques of the business architecture discipline
  • Suitable for business analysts, business architects, business change managers, project managers and business managers

What are the entry requirements?

  • There are no entry requirements for this certification.

What will I learn?

You’ll gain a broad understanding of business architecture including:

  • The business architecture domain
  • Business architecture frameworks
  • Business motivation view
  • Capability/organisation view
  • Value/process view
  • Competency/people view
  • Information and technology views
  • Business architecture and business change

The syllabus includes training objectives, details of modules and learning hours, plus a recommended reading list.

How do I get this certification?

Take the complete training programme (recommended)

You can take a bundled programme of courses with one of our approved training providers. You’ll find them across the UK and around the world.

How long will it take?

Classroom courses normally last 3 days.

Where can I study?

  • At an approved provider near you
  • At your computer via e-learning or web conference learning

How much does it cost?

Prices for courses vary depending on your chosen training provider and course format.

What format is the exam?

  • Pass mark is 65%
  • 90 minute, ‘closed book’ exam with two sections. Section A comprises 20 Multiple Choice Questions worth 2 marks each. Section B uses scenarios and asks candidates to answer Multiple Choice Questions and to construct short answer responses to questions.

    What are the benefits of gaining a BCS certification?

    Demonstrate your practical experience and show you have the capabilities to be an effective business analyst.
    Map your skills and identify your goals along your career path by following the SFIAplus industry-standard framework.
    Gain an internationally recognised certification, enabling you to take your skills around the world.

    "The industry recognised certifications provide the science behind the skills that I practise every day."

    Helen Clark, Business Analyst, Zurich

    What's next?

    Demonstrate your skills and expertise by gaining the internationally-recognised BCS Advanced International Diploma in Business Analysis, available once you have completed 3 other professional-level modules.

    The BCS Advanced International Diploma in Business Analysis

    • Available once you’ve completed the BCS International Diploma in Business Analysis, and
    • A BCS professional certification in each of the analytical, business and people skills subjects, and
    • 1 additional BCS professional certification in either an analytical or business skills subject

    Read more about our Advanced International Diploma in Business Analysis

    Advanced International Diploma in Business Analysis

    • Designed for senior business analysts with at least 5 years’ experience
    • Validates your experience and expertise as well as your contribution to the wider business analysis community
    • To attain the Advanced Diploma you must gain 4 professional level certifications and complete a portfolio review

    Read more about our Advanced International Diploma in Business Analysis

    This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualification in Wales, CCEA or SQA.